The most important step to properly optimize your account is to define your most important KPIs.
For example, if you have a branding campaign, your goal will probably be to get impressions, clicks, CTR, % of total search impressions, etc.
If we are talking about the case of an online store with the sole objective of selling, other variables such as conversions, cost per conversion, ROAS, etc. will have to be considered.
Of course, both types of campaigns are perfectly compatible and can be combined; in fact, this is the most common way of doing it.
Define the most important KPIs and assign them a target value - Google Ads Campaigns
But it is not enough to simply define which KPIs are the most important, we must assign them a value.
For example, our target CPA is €20, or our target ROAS is 2.5, or we are aiming for an impression share above 90%...
The above is important since based on these KPIs we will define the optimization.
2.2 Customize Google Ads columns online
From the Google Ads interface, we just have to click on Columns , as shown in the image below, and a window will appear with all the possible performance indicators that we may need.
Since you will have defined them, according to the previous step, simply add them and customize them to your liking.
Remember, sometimes less is more.
It is better to stick to what is truly important and relevant, and discard what adds noise and does not contribute anything to your analysis.
Google Ads columns to show the most important KPIs
2.3 Optimization examples based on practical cases
Let's get to the most interesting part of this section, at least for me, optimization based on a couple of examples.
To do this, we will take two cases that may occur periodically in our account and we will see how we can take action effectively.
2.3.1 My campaigns CPA is too high, I can't match it!
Let's say we have a target CPA for a campaign of €55 and this month we have it at €77.
What do we do?
First, analyze the change history to see what changes we have made so that this month, compared to previous months, the CPA has increased.
In particular, we will look to see if there is any negative trend that begins to occur from a specific day and that seems suspicious to us.
If there is any change that can justify it, we will reverse it.
Otherwise, further investigation will be necessary.
Optimize the CPA of a Google Ads campaign
Has it happened in other months or is this the first time in X time that this has happened to us?
How was this month last year, if we compare?
Where is the CPA increase occurring specifically (in certain groups, campaigns, is it widespread...)?
Have we lost a lot of visibility in those adgroups/keywords that converted best in recent months?
It is about isolating the source of the problem to the area that really has it .
A priori, here I have outlined some questions that I would personally ask myself in order to outline a solution to the problem.
Prior analysis work is necessary before taking action.
If we manage to extract some valuable insight we will be able to act with better perspective.
Otherwise, if we cannot find a single, unequivocal cause that is causing the situation, but it is email list india something general, or perhaps it is a trend specific to the time of year, it will be necessary to reduce the investment.
Don't skimp on time for analysis to try to find the causes.
Otherwise, you will put a patch on it and in the long run the problem will resurface.
To do this, we could study over the last three months (to get some perspective), which ad groups in the campaign have performed best (which keywords, etc.) and which have performed worst, and we would make the necessary bid adjustments to reduce the investment.
That is, if we do not manage to convert, it will be necessary to reduce the investment, so as not to continue wasting our money.
2.- Optimize your Google Ads campaigns appropriately
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